Home

For every perfect travel moment there are probably five travel lessons learned the hard way.

French franc

French franc

Mine is sticking too close to the travel budget when opportunity beckons. Several years ago I was staying overnight in exquisite Strasbourg, in eastern France bordering Germany, Switzerland and Luxembourg. Unfortunately, I arrived on a day in between the hotel’s sponsored Rhine River Valley tours that I had so very much wanted to join. But I  didn’t want to blow my budget by staying an extra night–possibly two–so I left disappointed the next day. Looking back, I should have spent the extra money (not a huge amount) and grabbed the opportunity to visit this glorious region. Instead, I saved a few bucks and have regretted the loss ever since. Penny wise, pound foolish….

