Home

A very lovely, crisp & clear songbird has been through the yard a few times in recent days, and stayed for quite awhile this morning. I haven’t been able to get a glimpse of it for sure, but I think it may be a beautiful, small chestnut brown bird the size of a sparrow, that I’ve spotted twice. Yesterday it was in the crab apple tree with a young Flicker that was preening itself. I could see the Flicker through binoculars, but the singer was obscured.

Adult male Flicker enjoying suet

Adult male Flicker enjoying suet

The birdcall is distinct and I only one, so it must be alone. I worry it may have been blown off its migratory course. It goes from tree to tree in the neighborhood, not far from my yard and then comes back. Is it calling out for its flock? I haven’t seen it at the thistle feeder among the goldfinch or eating sunflowers like the chickadees, but there is plenty of fruit, seeds and insects to forage in the garden.

Black Capped Chickadee foraging sunflower seeds

Black Capped Chickadee foraging sunflower seeds

 

 

 

A frequent visitor Male American Goldfinch

A frequent visitor Male American Goldfinch

 

 

 

 

With the seasons getting warmer, and more storms blowing, who knows what birds may get blown in and decide to stay longer.

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe I’ll start to see a greater variety of feathered friends in my yard, but I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not.

Leave a Reply

